Philippine Dermatological Society

Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center



To train physicians in the art and science of dermatology as a medical specialty, while providing excellent as well as compassionate service to the patients of Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center


To be recognized as a premiere training center in the field of dermatology in the Philippines, while being reputed as a provider of quality and compassionate medical service to the Filipino people


The Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center – Department of Dermatology was initially established in 1977 as a section under the Department of Internal Medicine. Dr. Rosario R. Canete held outpatient consultations from Monday to Friday for two hours a day, occupying a single cubicle at the outpatient department.


In 1980, the Section of Dermatology commenced its three-year Preceptorship program. Graduates of the program were allowed to take the Diplomate certifying examination given by the Philippine Society of Aesthetic Medicine (PSAM).


Formal Dermatology Residency Training started in 1988, with Dr. Eileen Regalado-Morales, the current Residency Training Officer, being the section’s first resident. Dr. Canete served as the section Chairman from 1977 to 1996, with the department achieving full accreditation status from the Philippine Society of Cutaneous Medicine in 1995. She was succeeded by Dr. Regalado-Morales, who helped transform the one cubicle room into a 305 square meter facility at the hospital’s ground floor. Dr. Marcellano Cruz was invited to join the roster of consultants as a Dermatologic Surgery and STD/HIV specialist, while Dr. Amelita Tanglao-De Guzman became the Dermatopathology specialist.


From 1998, Dr. Benedicto dL Carpio, a fellow of the Philippine Dermatological Society has served as the Chairman, while Dr. Eileen Regalado-Morales, the previous head of the Section served as the Residency Training Officer. Under their leadership, the Section was elevated to Department Status in 2002. On the same year, four graduates of the Residency Training Progam shared the prestige of being Specialty Board Topnotchers.


Following the unification of the country’s two premier dermatology societies, the Department was granted full accreditation status by the Philippine Dermatological Society. On 2008 and 2010, Dr. Ma. May Jasmin Ramos-Yason and Dr. Armelia Lapitan-Torres, graduates of the Residency Training Program, joined the department’s consultant staff. Dr. Ramos-Yason handles Photodermatology, while Dr. Torres became the department’s Research Coordinator. Dr. Ida Tiongco, a Dermatologic Surgeon from New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical Center, likewise joined the roster of consultants. In that same year, the Department embarked on the project of making OMMC the Premier Dermatologic Surgery Center in the Philippines. On 2013, the department marked another milestone with the creation of a Sexually Transmitted Diseases clinic to cater to the growing burden of STD even among the youth. Another graduate of the Residency Training Program, Dr. Abesamis, joined as the Department’s Contact and Occupational Dermatitis specialist on 2015.


Presently, the Department takes pride in having a complete Residency Training Program that encompasses a diverse exposure to pathologic and cosmetic cases and various therapeutic modalities. Residents undergoing through the three year Residency Training Program are guaranteed quality supervision in the various Dermatologic subspecialties such as Contact and Occupational Dermatology, Dermatopathology, Dermatologic Surgery, Infectious Dermatology, and Photodermatology. Graduates of the department have consistently garnered top places in the Specialty Board Exams and have won several awards in Research in both local and international events. It is the mission of the Department to train physicians in the art and science of Dermatology, while providing excellent as well as compassionate service to patients.


Indeed, the Ospital ng Maynila Department of Dermatology has now grown to become the premier skin, hair, and nail referral center of the City of Manila.



Dr. Benedicto dL. Carpio, MD, FPDS

Training Officer

Zharlah Gulmatico-Flores, M.D., F.P.D.S.


Dr. Amelita Tanglao – De Guzman, MD, FPDS, FDSP-PDS

Dr. Lesley Anne Chua, MD, DPDS


Dr. Camelia Faye Tuazon, MD, DPDS

Pediatric Dermatology

Dr. Mary Ann A. Abesamis, MD, FPDS
Contact Dermatitis and Environmental Dermatology, Sexually Transmitted Diseases

Dr. Mary Grace Anne Calvarido, MD, DPDS, DDSP-PDS


Dr. Jayne Bernadeth Li, MD, DPDS

Lasers and Cosmetic Surgery

Dr. Armelia Andrea Lapitan-Torres, FPDS

Research Coordinator and Lasers

Dr. Matthew S. Parco, MD-MBA, DPDS

Research and Teledermatology


Chief Resident 

Marvin A. De Manuel, MD

Third Years

Ma. Reena Beatrice V. Tagle, MD
Angelica Karina S. Ledesma – Cosico, MD
Dominique S. Puyat, MD
Shanelle C. Tan, MD
Beatriz Barbara A. Kho, MD



First Years

Tatiana Konstanze L. Francisco, MD
Alecxia Denise L. Peralta, MD
Jennifer F. Torio, MD
Maria Leanna S. Caylao, MD
Charmaine S. Bolusan, MD
Mariel Joy A. Lu, MD
Ma. Mercedes G. Macalma, MD
Veronica R. Talla, MD-MBA




Gram staining

KOH examination

Tzanck smear

Wood’s lamp examination


Patch testing

Biopsy (Shave, Punch, Incision, Excision)



Acne surgery

Intralesional steroid Injections


Chemical peels









Dermatologic surgery (Excision, incision, incision and drainage)

CO2 laser

Patient support

Leprosy Team

Psoriasis Club

Contact Dermatitis Club



  • Letter of application addressed to the Hospital Director
  • Passport size ID picture
  • Community Tax Certificate (Cedula)
  • Certified True Copies of the Following:
    • Transcript of Record
    • Diploma (Doctor of Medicine)
    • Certificate of General Weighted Average (GWA) and Class Ranking
    • Certificate of Good Moral Character
    • Board Rating
    • Certificated of Internship


Ospital ng Maynila Medical Center

OMMC – Department of Dermatology

Quirino Ave cor Roxas Blvd,

Malate, Manila


Tel. No. 525-5659

Philippine Dermatological Society Accredited Institutions